Scents that triggers down the lane of nostalgic memories

“Smell is a potent wizard that transports you across thousands of miles and all the years you have lived” ~ Helen Keller

Many a times we are caught up by a whiff of a fragrance which instantly makes us nostalgic. It not only reminds us of the long forgotten good days of our lives but also revives feelings associated with the bygone era. Not even a second passes and the evocative odor fills us with a strong déjà vu stir, that’s the kinship between specific smells and memory.

As the day passes and I write in my closet, several aromas across my room and home altogether perks up with all the old memories in different phases of my life – right from the childhood, adolescence to the beautiful memoirs which I left behind with time but are still engulfed in my heart. Here feel the aromatic air topped up with lots of mischief, fun and joy in chronological order –

Ah, the luscious smell of toasting bread takes me down the familiar tread

2013-08-25 12.14.25

As soon as the aroma of toasting bread makes a way through my olfactory bulb, it takes me down the memory lane of a young me around 6 years having Sunday breakfast along with my siblings (elder sister as well as brother) and parents. The fights, the howl, the fun and the happiness of spending time together while watching our favorite cartoon show and mythological serials on Doordarshan still makes me yell “God, why did I grow up.”

The notorious Phenyl Smell, rings the memoirs of school bell

Aha, while you may wonder what’s nostalgic about the phenyl smell, I’m already having a gala time inside the toilet of my school. Yes, those were the days and since it was school and not college we used to bunk entire period in the girls toilet gossiping and waiting for the bell to ring in order to escape the tantrums of our craft ma’am Ms. Leelamma. Thank God, we had a clean, sparkling and hygienic toilet in our school which always had the scent of the phenyl. Even today the phenyl smell all at once, makes the atmosphere smiley from smelly and tingle my notorious nerve to think, “Aaj kuch toofani karte hain.”

The pleasant aroma of Ambi Pur Lavender Air Freshener, how can I ever forget how it acted as the ultimate savior

lavender

Like all the young boys and girls out of the cocoon we were ready to taste life once we stepped out of school and there we had a brief rendezvous with none other than the smoking hot sticks – the fags. While we were the occasional smokers, we made sure none of the gossiping aunties or their poky kid ever catches us indulging the act. So, when Vicky’s mom went out for her usual grocery in the evening we would puff and then fill the room with Sara Lee’s Ambi Pur Lavender Air Freshener which his dad brought during his tenure in the Europe. Uncle was in the Merchant Navy and Lavender was Aunty’s favorite fragrance. Today, when I get the same smell in my living room, it not only refreshes my room environment but also my mood.

The spirited scent of nail paints sends me back to the chemistry lab taints

nail paint

 

Image source: commons.wikimedia.org

The moment it is time to dress up and get going for a party, marriage, meeting or a casual meet-up, it’s also the time to adorn my otherwise shabby nails with some sparkling colorful nail paints. And, the moment I open the cap, the spirited scent that spreads across my home takes me to the last room of the corner of the ground floor of my junior college. For scientist, it is a temple, for researchers it is a paradise but for students like us, our Chemistry laboratory was a place for fun, gup-shups and team-effort. Breaking test tube just for the sake of fun, purposely creating mild useless explosions by bringing phosphorous in contact with water and ending up with holed lab coats along with various little mischief – Oh, if only we could relive all those moments all over again!

The pleasant yet emotional smell of Mehendi brings back the happy moments of the day before my Sister’s bidai

Arabic Bridal-Mehndi-Designs-2012

 

Image Source: http://mehndidesign2013.blogspot.in

The fragrance of henna is one of the most beautiful scents which have the potential of filling every corner of your home with a feeling of celebration. No wonder the moment the whiff of Henna enters my nose, it directly makes my eyes glitter in delight as I witness my sister dressed for her wedding with her hands with the beautiful designs and patterns outshined in mehendi color. The smell brings back the sisterly love which was exposed for the very first time on the D-day.

brew-coffee-substitute

 

Image Source: http://ayurvedicroast.com/brew.php

And finally, the smell of the brewing filter coffee everyday jogs my memory of my beloved – urging me to call him up or whatsapp him. No wonder, all our initial days of courtship was majorly spent in the various coffee outlets all over India…

 

This post is a part of Indiblogger’s – Ambipur Smelly to Smiley Air contest.

To know more about AmbiPur click here – http://www.facebook.com/AmbiPurIndia

 

1 Comment

Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say

