8 Reasons Why Chilli Crab Is My Favorite Singaporean Food

What you do in Singapore is eat. It’s a really food-crazy culture, where all of this great food is available in a kind of hawker-stand environment. ~ Anthony Bourdain (Quote Source)

Rightly said by America’s favorite Chef – Singapore is indeed a hot destination if you are looking to indulge in some scrumptious food to allure your taste buds! Though there are plenty of yummy Singaporean dishes, the one that truly makes me go Nom Nom is Singapore’s Signature Dish – Chilli Crab. Yes, the island has lots of seafood to relish including the luscious crustaceans!

chilli-crab-singaporean-foodPhoto Source

Here I shall tell you why Chilli Crab, one of the National Dishes of Singapore is my Favorite Singaporean Food –

1. Because Despite Its Name “Chilli Crab” It Is Not That Spicy

I cannot eat spicy things and anything that has the word chilli in it. However, I can relish Chilli Crab since the food consist not only chilli but tomato puree along with some sauces that gives the Chilli Crab a really amazing taste. Tangy, flavory, spicy, and tasty, this Singaporean food is something that makes me crave “it” every time I think of Seafood and Singapore.

chilli-crab-palm-beach-road-singapore

Source

2. Because I can slurp the Mouthful Crabs and Relish Them Wholeheartedly

For all those who are in love with Seafood, knows what a pleasure it is, to slurp any sea food that has a shell over it. And every time I glug these tasty fried crabs dipped in this amazing mixture of sweet and savory sauce, it just makes me ask for some more…

chilli-crab-singapore-food-meme-1Source

3. Because It is Tasty as well as Healthy

Crabs contain low calorie and unsaturated fats which is very friendly when it comes to the heath of one’s heart. Besides, it is a rich source of omega 3 fatty acid which not only helps in reducing the risk of cancer but also the chances of heart attack. So, every time I indulge into these tasty and heavenly creatures, I know I’m having a healthy as well as tasty treat!

takeaway-singapore-meme

Source

4. Because This Tasty Singaporean Dish Helps Me in Entering the Stress Free Zone

While certain foods can make you feel fat and sleepy, chilli crabs only refreshes you. The reason? Well, these heavenly crabs consists good amount of chromium is them. So, the moment I taste this tasty meat dipped in appetizing sauce, I forget all the stress, and depression that surrounds me.

Chilli-Crab-dish-singaporeSource

5. Chilli Crab Is A Gastronomic Delight

Not all that is sweet and savory tastes good. But, chili crab which has been founded in 1950 by chef Cher Yam Tian with the help of her husband Lim Choon Ngee is worth tasting. The reason? Well, it comes with a history. The couple used to sell fried crabs on their pushcart, but one fine day on the insistence of her husband, Cher Yam Tiam used bottled chilli sauce on these fried crabs. Soon, the dish was sold like hot cakes.

singapore-food-gastronomic-delightSource

Yes, yes, it is tried, tested and is a product of gastronomy. So, now you know why the food that has been admired from past 6 and a half decade all over the world has something distinctive to boast about. No wonder, I love the foods that are gastronomical delights!

6. The Food Looks Yummy When It is Served – It Is Simply Irresistible

The moment Chilli Crab appears on your table, your mouth starts watering automatically. Yes, the rich color, the luscious crabs and the entire garnishing makes it simply irresistible from the go. So, if you happen to visit Singapore anytime soon, don’t forget to taste my favorite Singaporean Chili Crab.

chilli-crab-singapore-far-east-hospitalitySource

7. Chilli Crab Is Available In Every Nook and Corner of Singapore

You won’t have any problem in tasting Chilli Crab because this signature dish of Singapore is available in each and every corner of the Singaporean Island. From the hawker stalls to the seafood restaurants, you’ll get chilli crab anywhere and everywhere at your service. Like they say in India – Kahin Bhi, Kabhi Bhi…

jumbo-seafood-singaporeSource

8. And And And….I can Relish Chilli Crab from my Own Hands in the Desi Style…

Chilli Crab is eaten with bare hands to relish its taste – This makes me crave this food even more. Because while steak and other chicken/mutton dishes compel me to use fork and knife, I can simply relish the tasty chilli crab with my bare hand in a restaurant without gaining any unwanted attention.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASource

The last time I was having chicken steak with bare hands and everybody in the restaurant was looking at me. No wonder, my brother had a raised eyebrow …

Not just Chilli Crab there are plenty of tasty dishes waiting for you in Singapore. To discover all the yummy delicacies, and the hotels, check the official website of Far East Hospitality

main-banner-takeaway-singapore-far-east-hospitality

Also, check out their mouth-watering deals, if you are planning to visit Singapore any time of the year. Get the ‘Far More Singapore’ Experience with Far East Hospitality!

4 Comments

Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say

