Khul Jaye Bachpan At Its Best When Parents Become Buddy Parents

Parenting is not that easy. Becoming too harsh will make them rebel and becoming too lenient would make them sit you on your head. In such circumstances, the best way to deal with them is by being their buddy. Yes, only a buddy parent can guide the tiny tots and make learning easy and playful.

While, I’m still not a parent, I have seen how my sister a mother of a 7 year old kid has been a buddy parent over the years. Here are few instances, “The Khushi Ke Pal” Between my sister (parent) and my nephew (child).

When She Taught Him the Magic of Science, and He Taught Him a New Regional Language – “Kannada”

Observing scientists experimenting in the labs while watching cartoons, my nephew gets excited about science and the so called experiments, wondering how such things would be possible. Watching her son’s curiosity and interest in these experiments, my sister and his mom thought of showing him the basic experiments which is possible right at the comfort of home.

Next, she announced that they will together build a lab in the house and carry out similar experiments in the house. Fully excited my nephew geared up for the event and even shared the news with his dad, asking him the details. His dad revealed things that only excited him more.

When I entered the house, my nephew immediately took me to the second balcony. I wondered what the mother and son duo was upto. My nephew introduced me to their lab (which was the balcony) and introduced me to the scientist in the lab (who was sis) and introduced him as her assistant.

My sis was ready with a bowl of water, surf, and turmeric. I understood.

experiment-for-kids

She then showed the first experiment to my nephew. How turmeric changed its color and became red in the presence of soapy water. Overwhelmed, my nephew was too excited to see a magic happening in front of his eyes.

bowll

turmeric-expirement

kids-science-experiment

His mom in a playful way explained him the reaction. And this is the way they have been learning many things in a playful way.

While, it would be just a “kuch bhi….” for a grownup it sure is a khushi ke pal for a parent and a child where both enjoy the precious moments and even the spectators like me cannot stop but appreciate the bonding moments. Believe me, it was khuljaye bachpan at its best!

They also have litmus paper and magnifying glass in their lab. My nephew these days often describe how certain things look under the magnifying glass.

 Surprisingly, my sister could learn from my nephew too – How?

Well, we are a bunch of North Indians and south Indian language is almost like Greek and Latin to us. So, when my sister shifted to Bangalore, she had lot of problems while talking to the local vendors especially those selling vegetables. Neither my sister could understand their language, nor did they understand my sister’s language. They talked in sign languages.

My nephew was admitted in a CBSE school. However, they said, “Kannada” is compulsory up till 8th Std. Now this worried both my sister and my nephew.

However, during the vacations, my nephew started going to a teacher’s place in the same building who taught Kannada language. Being a fast learner to our surprise he could grasp the language very quickly. Not just the basic aa aa ee ee but also some key words used in the daily life. Now he is learning Kannada language both in school as well as his Kannada tuition classes.

kannada-alphabets

Back at home, when he is free he often sits with his home, writes the Kannada alphabets and makes her repeat what he says. In a way, he is teaching her the language Kannada while he himself is learning it in school.

kannada-class

He now knows how to say 1 to 20 in Kannada and he has taught the same to his mom. So, whenever my sister now goes to the local sabzi thella, she bargains using the Kannada term for the numbers.

So, when it comes to Kannada, my sister is a student and my nephew is a teacher. While, my nephew teaches her patiently, my sister too learns enthusiastically and even ask question out of curiosity which he answers sometimes like…..”are baba….” And then explains her in detail. The role reversal pattern followed by my sister is nothing but a part of being a buddy parent. After all, such moments not only give us some memorable moments (khushi ke pal) but also help us to relive our own childhood in a unique way (khul jaye bachchpan)

Another Instance

She is Teaching Him Yoga, While He is Guiding Her With the Mobile Apps, & PC Games

These days my nephew is going to karate classes and so he needs to be fit. Unexpectedly, he asked his mother to teach him yoga so that he becomes proactive in his physical activity. Happy to help my sister is teaching him all the kid yoga poses like Butterfly pose, Child Pose. Prayanama and Kapalbhati is something he has been doing since he was 4!

yoga-pose

This one hour yoga session which they do on weekends is truly “Khushi Ke Pal” The reason? Well, the family bond over it. During one such session in my presence in the end my nephew announced let’s end the yoga with the ghoda asan (Horse pose) and there was an great level of excitement on his face.

Next, I saw my sister became a horse and my little nephew was riding his horse around the world (the house). It was indeed a ‘Khuljaye Bachpan’ moment for me.

Few hours later after the lunch, I saw both the mother and son on the couch and my nephew shouting, “mom F1 F1, the arrow keys, no no the “N” button…” and when I came near I saw he was teaching the tricks of playing GTA Vice City.

laptop

I couldn’t help but smile after observing the significance of Buddy Parenting. No wonder, it did gave me those “Kushi Ke Pal” to cherish and even a “Khuljaye Bachpan” moment.

Kellogg’s Chocos Is Celebrating such Khuljaye Bachpan moments.  Join the community where moms get into conversations on health & nutrition for their little ones.

Do share your own ‘Khushi Ke Pal’ moments that you may have experienced or come across here in the comments box or on the Kellogg’s Chocos official Facebook page.

Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say

